Skip to main content

2020 October Art Dare

“WHICH WORD WILL IT BE?”

Every 3 days, Prof Lieu will choose 3 words.  We will have an Instagram Story video on @art.prof every 3 days where Prof Lieu will close her eyes and point to a word on any book, magazine or item with text on it. Create an artwork in response the word of the day in any art media.

We will post the words below throughout the month, and also as a Instagram Highlight on @art.prof! In the Art Prof Discord Server, we have an #art-dares channel where you can post your WIP, get feedback and support each other.

Get Art Dare Notifications

ART DARE LEAP
Choose 1 art media for the entire month!

Tues., Sept. 27

BATTERY

Report card from the 1980’s

2020 October Art Dare

Sun., Oct 25

SPLIT

Prof Lieu’s live stream notes

2020 October Art Dare

Sat., Oct 24

DON’T

Sign on Prof Lieu’s office door

2020 October Art Dare

Fri., Oct 23

MONOLOGUES

Prof Lieu’s staff reminders for live streams

2020 October Art Dare

Thurs, Oct. 22

KILL

The New Yorker

2020 October Art Dare

Wed., Oct 21

CALIDAD!
(Spanish)

El Guapo Laurel Bay Leaves

2020 October Art Dare

Tues., Oct 20

SLIPPERY

Utah Driver Handbook 2020

2020 October Art Dare

Mon., Oct 19

AARDAPPELEN
(Dutch)

Torres Selecta Premium Potato Chips

2020 October Art Dare

Sun., Oct 18

DUO

Uinta Brewing Co.

2020 October Art Dare

Sat, Oct 17

KARNATAKA

Indian Home Cooking by Suvir Saran & Stephanie Lyness

2020 October Art Dare

Fri, Oct 16

BUSINESS

Pioneer Soap Co.

2020 October Art Dare

Thurs, Oct 15

200

6th Grade Science Textbook

2020 October Art Dare

Tuesday, Oct 13

TRANQUILLO
(Italian)

Solos for Young Violinists, Vol. 2
compiled & edited by Barbara Barber

2020 October Art Dare

Monday, Oct 12

NGH
(no specific language)

Venus in the Blind Spot
Junji Ito

2020 October Art Dare

Sunday, Oct 11

FUERA
(Spanish)

Safe Lite Fire Starter Squares

2020 October Art Dare

Saturday, Oct 10

WHY?

Lullabies and Night Songs
Music by Alex Wilder, illustrated by Maurice Sendak

2020 October Art Dare

Friday, Oct 9

METHYLCELLULOSE

Pepto Bismol

2020 October Art Dare

Thursday, Oct 8

ENOKITAKE

Cook’s Illustrated

2020 October Art Dare

Tuesday, Oct 6

NIGHT

The New Yorker

2020 October Art Dare

Sunday, Oct 4

DEATH

1491: New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus
by Charles C. Mann

2020 October Art Dare

Saturday, Oct 3

ROLL

Betty Crocker’s Cookbook

2020 October Art Dare

Friday, Oct 2

FISH

Hiking Utah, by Dave Hall

TO SUBMIT

Post your artwork on Instagram, tag us @art.prof  w/ #artprofdare.
Please know that if you use #artprofdare, you are automatically granting us permission to repost your art dare artworks on our Instagram!

Submissions close on Saturday, October 31 @ 11:59pm EST

We are no longer accepting submissions via Facebook or email. We prefer submissions via Instagram, but you can also use the upload form below. Please do not use the upload form if you submit via Instagram.

Need help getting started?  Watch our video on how to brainstorm as an artist for concrete brainstorming exercises you can do to get started on interpreting each word. Watch Prof Lieu brainstorm an editorial illustration in our linoleum block printmaking tutorial. 

Word Association
Mind Maps
Thumbnail Sketches
2020 October Art Dare

PRIZE GUIDELINES

We award prizes and honorable mentions. To be eligible for a prize, your artwork must be an original artwork created specifically for this Art Dare, and follow all guidelines.

Honorable Mention
Artists in the US can choose either Prof Lieu’s book, or Cat Huang’s middle school comic, “The Comic Journal of Cathy Rox.” International artists will receive 3 months free in our Discord Voice channel.

Learn, Create, and Teach, Clara Lieu, RISD Adjunct Professor
The Comic Journal of Cathy Rox
The Comic Journal of Cathy Rox

Art Dare winner
Choose from a portfolio critique, an artist website critique, or an artist Instagram critique, or 5 months free in our Discord Voice channel. Artists in the US can also choose to receive both Prof Lieu’s book + Cat Huang’s middle school comic, “The Comic Journal of Cathy Rox.”

Links on this page are Amazon affiliate links that Artprof.org earns from qualifying purchases.

Support Art Prof!

Donate